Opening Bell.

If you’re looking for a place to listen to live music…

You must visit Opening Bell. It is the cutest little coffee shop downtown off  of Lamar St. It’s a bit hidden underground, so it feels cozy and warm down there.

If you want to find the latest up-and-coming singer-songwriter in the area, come to the shop on its weekly Open Mic night (on Tuesdays at 6:30 p.m.) You may catch me there, sitting in the back, sipping a latte and nodding my head to the beat.

Opening Bell was my first “concert” venue alone.

When I was probably 15, I went out with my older friends to see my favorite singer-songwriter, and long-time friend, Jillian Edwards, on a Friday night. My parents didn’t realize that Opening Bell was downtown and approved the little excursion.

When I called and told them where I was, my dad nearly threw a fit. He didn’t think it was safe for me to go at such a young age. I really didn’t care, I got to cheer on Jill Bill and drink some really great coffee! (The addiction started young).

Opening Bell will always be a nostalgic place for me. I encourage you to visit for either coffee or music, or even better, both!

Leave a Reply

