Thrifting Queen: Family Thrift Center.

 

My name is Maelyn, and I am a thrifter.

I started thrifting sometime around my sophomore year of college. After wanting to express myself through my clothing and realizing I had almost no money in my sad, sad bank account, I transformed into a thrifting queen.

I can smell a thrift store from a mile away. It’s like a sixth sense. And if I can’t smell it, I definitely can eye it from hundreds of feet up the road.

Sure, the clothes are used. It’s not like I don’t wash them.

I thought it would only be appropriate to feature my favorite store as my first “Shop” post.

Family Thrift Center located in Plano at K Avenue and Park is an immensely huge thrift store roughly the size of a local Walmart. It features racks upon racks of dresses, pants, suits, blouses, sweatshirts, jackets, shoes, coats. It’s overwhelming at first, but once you dive in, the water is great.

I’ve scored amazing deals here. I wear my “lizard” dress all of the time (it’s brown and green and has a lizard-like print on it). I can’t go out in the cold without my puffy jacket. And don’t even get me started on my brown, leather wedges (yes, I sprayed them).

Thrifting is great because it costs little and does not harm anyone in the process. Stores like Goodwill and Salvation Army also benefit great causes.

If you haven’t thrifted yet, go ahead and try! You just may like what you find.

Leave a Reply

